Night Owl Paper Goods Holiday Card Review

Posted on Nov 1 2013 - 8:15pm by Susan Bewley

Disclosure: I received this product for free as part of a review for Night Owl Paper Goods. The opinions in my review are honest and my own.

With Christmas less than two months away, I have been spending quite a bit of time planning for the holidays. Normally, I have most of my Christmas shopping finished by now, but I’m embarrassed to say that I am just starting. The first thing on my agenda this year was actually picking out Christmas cards. Most years I don’t bother buying Christmas cards because I can’t find anything that really fits my family. After a bit of discussion, my husband and I decided we would order personalized Christmas cards. Having never done anything like this in the past, I went to the one place I know always makes adorable cards – Night Owl Paper Goods. After talking to them, I was very excited when I found out they would love for me to review their personalized holiday cards. To say the least, once I was issued a gift card for the purchase, I couldn’t wait to get started!


Night Owl Paper Goods: Who Are They

For those of you haven’t heard of Night Owl Paper Goods, they are one of my favorite stationery companies. This small company uses is known for their modern, yet folk inspired designs. As well, all of their designs are eco-friendly, recycled paper or wood, allowing them to reduce the overall carbon footprint of their products while giving everyone the gift of pure cuteness. What truly makes them unique in my eyes, however, are their products made from eco-friendly, sustainably-harvested birch wood. From my own experience, I have seen that their cards truly give an extra special touch above and beyond the typical cards. Having seen how much my mother and mother in law loved these cards, they seemed like the perfect place to order personalized holiday cards!

Night Owl Logo

Night Owl Paper Goods: Ease of Ordering

I must admit, the hardest part of picking out a card is choosing from all the adorable designs. Early on I decided I wanted to send out wooden cards that doubled as ornaments. In my mind, this was obviously the hardest decision to make, right? Well, after an hour of looking at all their holiday cards my husband I finally decided on a cute otter design. For those who know my husband, it obviously involved a pun. Once I chose my card, I could decide what I wanted it to say, as well as if I wanted a family picture, calendar, or just our names on the back of the card. Since it was only the two of us, I decided to go with something simple on the back. Once the card was in the system, I was told I would have a proof back in 24 hours so I could see exactly what my finished card would like and look for errors. While this may not seem like a big deal, it actually is, since many card places use an automated, cookie cutter-like system that doesn’t allow many changes. Since all of their cards are made by a professional designer, they can make sure everything is laid out properly and the card looks PERFECT in your eyes. Once you approve the card, it is sent off to be made, making the wait the hardest part. Really, I don’t think ordering cards could be a more personal and involving process!

Night Owl Paper Goods 1

Night Owl Paper Goods: Finished Product

Okay, I will freely admit, I was a little kid when my box of items from Night Owl Paper Goods holiday cards arrived. I really wanted to see my adorable otter cards. From the moment I took them out of the box, I was wowed! As someone who has always loved their products, I had high expectations, and Night Owl exceeded them. My card couldn’t be more perfect. Each of my card ornaments looked like older, aged woodcuts, giving them that perfect, folksy look that would like nice on just about any Christmas tree. I also love the little, thoughtful details – like the fact that the included hanging ornament string looks like peppermint, making the card stand out even more. Now that I have my cards, I can’t wait to start sending them out!

Night Owl 1

Night Owl Paper Goods: Overall

Okay, I don’t think I can purchase boring Christmas cards again. I will freely admit, as someone who only rarely bought cards before, their cards feel a bit on the pricy side, but I also think they are worth every penny. You are truly getting a unique piece of art with all of their cards, and something that will get noticed when your friends and family open their holiday mail this season. If you can’t afford to get personalized cards, their normal holiday cards are also something that just about anyone would enjoy opening. Based on my own experience using Night Owl Paper Good’s personalized card service, and receiving the final product, I have to say I give them an A+ rating. There is truly nothing I would change and I highly recommend you consider purchasing your holiday cards from them this year!

Night Owl Paper Goods: Where to Purchase

To purchase personalized holiday cards from Night Owl Paper Goods, make sure to go to their website. There, you will find a large selection of personalized holiday cards & traditional holiday card designs that everyone in your family will love.

15% off Personalized Holiday Cards - You choose real wood or paper.

Disclosure: Budget Earth did not receive compensation for this review but did receive free products from Night Owl Paper Goods for review purposes. All opinions on this product are my own and may differ from our readers’ opinions.

Would you like to have your products featured in a similar giveaway event? Want to increase your social media exposure before the holiday season? See how we can help! Contact to see what we can do for your company!


Susan Bewley is a professional writer & blogger who has been writing content online & in print format for over 10 years. As well, she is an alumni of the University of Louisville with a Masters Degree in Special Education. When not freelance or ghost writing, she can be found writing on Budget Earth or on her own novel. Feel free to contact Susan for more information on how she can help your business.

64 Comments so far. Feel free to join this conversation.

  1. velma November 1, 2013 at 9:03 pm -


  2. judy sizemore November 2, 2013 at 4:57 am -

    i love these they are so cute

  3. sherry butcher November 2, 2013 at 8:06 am -

    Love this review.  Good to know esp. if you need one perfect card for a very spical event.

  4. Jane Ritz November 2, 2013 at 10:12 am -

    They're products are unique. They are personalized and the company pays attention to quality and customer service. 

  5. April November 2, 2013 at 10:31 am -

    These are very cute.

  6. Keno Moore November 2, 2013 at 1:26 pm -

    Well this is a first for me,at least you won't have to worry about breakage.

  7. Sandra McFadden November 2, 2013 at 1:48 pm -

    I love these I am always looking for items that remind me of my childhood Christmas's and this one fits the bill!

  8. DENISE SMITH November 2, 2013 at 2:54 pm -

    i love this idea they are so cute

  9. kathryn November 2, 2013 at 4:29 pm -

    I love that Night Owl Paper Goods is eco-friendly.  It's also very important to me that I get a proof to check for mistakes before my cards are printed…love that!

  10. Deana Stephens November 2, 2013 at 5:08 pm -

    These are adorable!

  11. Kristyn A November 2, 2013 at 8:20 pm -

    I know, I can't believe it is that time again! Don't be embarrassed, I am usually a late starter when it comes to getting all my Christmas stuff done. But I Love Night Owl Paper Goods. They have very cute stuff. I LOVE OWLS too! But I also love how you can create your own stuff! Very cool! :)

  12. RAKELA ANDERSON November 2, 2013 at 9:14 pm -


  13. Andrea Byrne November 2, 2013 at 9:47 pm -

    I love this gift idea, unique and can be used year to year!

  14. michelle oakley warner November 2, 2013 at 9:51 pm -

    what a great looking card, it looks so proffessional and perfest. i like that it is easy to do, thanks a bunch

  15. Renee Ashley Hanna November 2, 2013 at 10:35 pm -

    I love doing crafts and this is my area. Making cards is better than buying them. This is a great way to make a card for a loved one. Thanks for this awesome review. I will be looking forward to more reviews from you.

  16. Jeanine November 3, 2013 at 1:33 am -

    These are really cute cards!

  17. Erika Messer November 3, 2013 at 2:00 am -

    These are just so cute, I have seen them several places and I think I  might order my Christmas cards through them this year!

  18. Lisa R November 3, 2013 at 5:20 am -

    I love to send different cards to people, these are awesome

    sibabe64 at ptd dot net

  19. Kim Henrichs November 3, 2013 at 8:46 am -

    These are absolutely precious!  I love any kind of card that is different and makes a statement.  Definitely checking them out!

  20. thomas rusinak November 3, 2013 at 10:12 am -

    these products are fun!

  21. madeline November 3, 2013 at 10:49 am -

    Such a cute idea and love how they dont got to waste.

  22. mindy cole November 3, 2013 at 12:59 pm -

    I love these they are so cute 

  23. Sheri Ferguson November 3, 2013 at 2:49 pm -

    These are beautiful. I just love the wood greeting cards! How unique!

  24. Joy November 3, 2013 at 3:28 pm -

    So cute, love how you can make them into ornaments.

  25. Vanessa W November 3, 2013 at 4:02 pm -

    Very beautiful cards!  What a wonderful product.

  26. rachel rohde November 3, 2013 at 5:41 pm -

    these are really cute cards.

  27. Heather Bell November 3, 2013 at 9:16 pm -

    I absolutely adore owls

  28. gigi n jimmy borden November 4, 2013 at 8:57 am -

    these are so cute, thank you so much for sharing!! i love doing crafts and i love sending out christmas cards!!!!

  29. md kennedy November 4, 2013 at 9:34 am -

    I love how custom you can make your cards, and how nice yours looks.  I certainly consider Night Owl for this year's cards, so I better get on it now!

  30. Ann Cluck November 4, 2013 at 2:55 pm -

    I have heard of and bought from Night Owl Paper Goods before.  I sell a certain product that has the name Owl in it and uses and owl in it's logo.  So, I was very excited to find their products.  I ordered right away and even though mine were not personalized, I loved the quality and the price!!

  31. Duck Mommy November 5, 2013 at 8:32 pm -

    Thank you so much for posting this! I love sending holiday cards, but I *detest* boring ones!!

  32. Robin Coxon November 6, 2013 at 12:47 am -

    I love to make cards for those I love.  These are some really cute ideas.

  33. KARENALBERTWINSLOW November 6, 2013 at 7:52 am -


  34. rochelle haynes November 6, 2013 at 8:25 am -

    this is a nice review love to have these  hope i win one of these gift cards, and they are printed on wood that means that they will last a long time.

  35. alihaider November 6, 2013 at 11:47 am -

    These are amazing.I love the cards because of  the fact that there are printed on wood.

  36. Sylvia Zajis November 6, 2013 at 9:54 pm -

    What a great service to offer.  I think personalized is so much more personal for the party receiving the card.  Good review.

  37. krystel November 8, 2013 at 2:05 pm -

    this is too cute 

  38. Tara November 11, 2013 at 11:36 am -

    I love the personalized cards that you chose from Night Owl Paper Goods! I can't wait to send mine out & see what people think. I know I've never gotten a card made of wood so I think they will love them!

  39. eric rivera November 11, 2013 at 7:06 pm -

    thats reall neat i love the one you went with i think this would make the holidays alot smoother in many aspects i even love the little string it comes with 

  40. Evelyn Chuter November 12, 2013 at 1:33 am -

    I am crazy about these owls. I think they are the cutest. I would love to stationary with these owls on it.

  41. Vicki Hale November 12, 2013 at 3:09 pm -

    Good Afternoon.  I have heard of Night Owl Cards, but I did not know they made wooden cards!  In the past I have sent out family photo cards and people have told me they keep them on their shelf all year long.  What a fun change this would be.  Thanks. Vicki.

  42. Allyson Bossie November 13, 2013 at 10:34 am -

    These are such cute cards!  I am so checking these out for future needs!

  43. Yuen November 13, 2013 at 10:56 am -

    Omg this are adorable! Perfect for gifts!

  44. Monica Barnett November 13, 2013 at 8:07 pm -

    Hi Susan!  Thank you for your informative review.  My Husband & I try to keep up with sending out cards for Christmas, Birthdays, Anniversaries, you name it.  I think it's so important to remember people on their special days.  Major gift giving these days is difficult these days for us, but these ornament cards make a lovely, small token, without breaking the bank.

  45. Vanessa Wille November 13, 2013 at 9:56 pm -

    I love that these cards are eco-friendly!  I love sending and receiving Christmas cards, but I cannot imagine how many trees are sacrificed.  This is a great idea, and the designs are too cute!

  46. Carly November 14, 2013 at 5:11 am -

    These are adorable! I always homemake my own Christmas Cards. It's just tradition :)

  47. Jennifer T November 14, 2013 at 9:29 am -

    Love the review! Unique cards!

  48. carla bonesteel November 14, 2013 at 11:26 am -

    These are very cute, and it seems like an easy company to deal with..but I must confess…I only buy Zombie Christmas cards to hand out.  And they are hard to find..definitely NOT folk inspired.  LOL

  49. michelle oakley warner November 14, 2013 at 3:55 pm -

    what a great site, i love the part where you can carve your own design into wood. that is the coolest thing i have seen, they have a great sale selection as well, thanks for sharing a great site, thanks for the great review, awesome

  50. Lily Kwan November 14, 2013 at 6:02 pm -

    Night Owl Paper Goods products look very nice. Thanks for the interesting and informative review!

  51. rebeka deleon November 14, 2013 at 7:40 pm -

    we never send out Christmas cards and i never have. i would love to send personalized ones with my kids picture on it. i think the grandparents would really enjoy that.

  52. laurie nykaza November 14, 2013 at 11:50 pm -

    I would love to have their paper products to use all year round their so cute and my daughter loves them all to great gifts for christmas as well